The MT-07 Forum

Used MT07 Buying Tips

shintachou

Hello All,

Instead of buying brand new, I've decided to look into used market.

Saw a few examples in very good condition cosmetically, but I can't see how well the engine/transmission was treated by the first owner. what I am afraid of is ruined clutch, or ruined engine done by mis-shifting and overrevved the engine.

Aside from taking the bike to a local shop and have it inspected, is there anything I can do on my own to make sure everything is good? any sound, vibration I should be looking for?

I'm pretty new to the MT-07 world, but in general when I buy a motorcycle I listen for unusual noises coming from the engine, transmission or clutch, check the power though the rev range, look for leaks, check the oil level and oil color, inspect the chain for stiff links and the sprockets for excessive wear.  Run it in all six gears and observe the smoothness of shifting and the sounds.  Feel the smoothness of clutch engagement and note whether the clutch slips at high throttle.  And the state of lubrication of the chain can give a clue about how well the bike was taken care of in general.  Check tire wear to see how soon you'll need to spend a few hundred bucks on new ones.  You should be able to see the thickness of the brake pads too, and of course look at the rotors to be sure they're in decent, gouge-free condition.

Ignition systems today have rev limiters, so it's unlikely the engine would have damage from over revving.  I have read that the FZ-07 and MT-07 have had some clutch failures.  My guess is that clutching wheelies in 2nd and 3rd gear may be related to this, so listen to the seller's stories about how easily the bike can wheelie in those gears.  If he brags about that, it might not be a good sign.