The MT-07 Forum

Used Tires?

raysigh

image.thumb.png.46f29c00dadbee17aa6f460174055bee.png

So I'm a track novice in B group, and was surprised at how quickly S22's get to the edge of the tire. I've been told that I can lean past the edge of the tire so I had more lean angle to go. However, I do really want to try Q4's as I was told by pretty much everyone at the track that that's what I want.

Is it a really bad idea to slap on a set of these used Q4's? They're $30 a set front/rear... I think the rears are at or damn near the wear bars..

Edited by raysigh

Spring for a new set first. This way you can make an accurate, informed decision about Q4's based on new tires and with peace of mind. If it turns out you like them (not everyone does) then look at take offs from a reputable source. There's  a big difference between good 'take offs' and 'used tires' too.  Low lap take offs from a racer that runs 10-20 laps then springs for new rubber out of pocket, through sponsorship or from tire certs is a great source for cheap, good rubber. Tires that have been replaced at or past the wear bars by a racer/track day guy because he's cheap or getting nervous about them is a no-go. 

Those tires in your pic don't look too bad for reference but they are getting to end of their life. Sometimes you can get lucky and get them for nothing directly from the source but $30 is cheaper than $300 I get it. Just do yourself a favor and try a new set first to help you make an informed decision. Bridgestone S22's are a fine tire as are many other models from all of the common track tire companies, you really should try them all. And it won't hurt you a bit to get more experience before delving into more advanced arena's like this. Have safe fun.

$.02

Blue Line Racing

• Like 4

M. Hausknecht