The MT-07 Forum

Shifting gears after hard stop

seven

I am a new rider and I know during a hard/emergency stop I should be downshifting...at least that is what they taught us in the training course. However today I had to do a hard stop and did not downshift. So I was at a complete stop in 5th gear and then trying to get to 1st. Tried kicking down a gear, no response. Another kick down and the gear display just goes blank. I was trying to rock the bike back and forth to get a gear and eventually got down to 1st but it literally took 30 second of me fiddling around.

Is this normal? I am new to motorcycling so I have no frame of reference. In a car if I had trouble getting into gear I would shift to neutral, release the clutch and try again.

Just wondering if this is a problem with the MT-07, a problem with my particular bike or just that is the way it is and that is why you have to shift down.

Whatever those answers are, if in that situation again, what is the best way to get to 1st?

All bikes can do that. Slip the clutch (very light, not enough to move) and down shift away. 

Go to a parking lot and practice hard stops while down shifting. The most important thing is the stop, but you may need to evade something coming from behind and get outa there. Can’t do an immediate take off in 5th stopped!

• Like 3

• Premium Member

It's normal.  Just practice down shifting before you come to a stop.

• Like 1

Craig Mapstone
Upstate New York

I had that happen once when I started riding. Practice practice practice hard stops and downshifting.