The MT-07 Forum

Safe positioning at red lights

minner

I was out the other day and while waiting at a red light the car to my right was rear-ended.  The moving car was only at 5mph or so.  However, this could lead to significant injury if one of us absorbed that impact on a motorcycle. I'm in California and lane split when possible.  However, there are times when the gap is just too small to ride through (I am a beginner).   I tend to place the bike adjacent to the car in front of me, preferably on an outside lane to decrease the chance of taking the brunt of an impact. The more experienced riders in California seem to get around stopped vehicles more reliably.  

For those outside of California; where do you place your bike to minimize a rear-end impact?  

It may also be informative for people to respond to the poll saying whether or not they have ever been rear-ended at a stop-light.  If the percentage is high enough it may lead some newer riders to behave differently in this situation.

**Please keep in mind that accidents are associated with many variables such as riding style, location (city, rural, high traffic or low), and particularly, years of riding experience.  In order to have a valid study of this topic we would have to correct for such variables.  The poll is by no means scientifically sound and intended to give reader a gross appreciation of the potential for being hit by a car at a red light.  On 11/19, 13% of responders on this forum were hit.  That's a little scary and the advise provided by experienced riders is invaluable.  I know I am listening. Hopefully we get 30 responses or more to obtain a better estimation.