The MT-07 Forum

New rider squid

rich01760

I have a friend that I took the MSF course with 3 years ago. I have been riding for 3 years but he didn't buy a bike until a few days ago. Went for first ride yesterday and he comes out with a sweatshirt, track pants and sneakers. At least he had a brand new full face helmet (which he is considering returning). He is very rusty and needs a lot of practice. I wear all the gear all the time and I encouraged him to get gear. He nods his head yes, but his actions don't match his words. Should I continue to urge him and what is the best way to do this without being a nag or do you feel it is totally his choice? 

I have encountered similar situations and I flat out tell them that I don’t want to be the guy scraping them off the pavement or watching them lay in more agony than they should. I can’t enjoy a ride with someone wearing flip flops and a T shirt. My .02

• Like 2

Just now, rich01760 said:

I have a friend that I took the MSF course with 3 years ago. I have been riding for 3 years but he didn't buy a bike until a few days ago. Went for first ride yesterday and he comes out with a sweatshirt, track pants and sneakers. At least he had a brand new full face helmet (which he is considering returning). He is very rusty and needs a lot of practice. I wear all the gear all the time and I encouraged him to get gear. He nods his head yes, but his actions don't match his words. Should I continue to urge him and what is the best way to do this without being a nag or do you feel it is totally his choice? 

You could try but his actions speak for themselves. You're both adults, I assume, so beyond modeling good behavior there's little you can do to change another's beliefs. Help him knock the rust off his skills by riding safely, in low traffic areas and skip the foolery lest his first crash either teaches him the value of good gear or helps him decide to find a different hobby.