The MT-07 Forum

Bike creeps in gear and doesn't want to shift to neutral

Giovanni

Sorry in advance for the novel but I figure the whole picture will make it easier to help. 

So I have this problem which I (kind of) know the solution to because I've solved it before, but now I think I solved it just out of pure luck. 

My gear shifting was fine and dandy until I decided to learn clutch up wheelies. During one session I fear I stretched the clutch cable or something because the bike started suddenly slipping when I gassed it. So I started learning how to play with the clutch adjusters, both at the handle and at the engine. I played and played until one day I got it to the sweet spot where shifting was seamless and it would shift to neutral no problem. But noooo I had to keep on playing because something told me I could get it to work better. 

Fast forward to now I've been playing with the adjuster for weeks and can't seem to get it to the right place. The bike creeps in gear and won't shift to neutral at a stand still. And clutchless shifting is damn near impossible. So my question I guess is....... 

How do I get the adjuster at the engine to sit at the right place (when I got it to work perfect the little dot on the clutch arm wasn't above the arrow on the engine. Does it have to be?) it seems now that no matter how I set the free play that problem persists. 

And I know there is a sweet spot. I've opened the clutch case to check the plates and the basket and everything seems fine. I think it's just a free play problem. But I can't find the spot. Hopefully someone has some insight. Thanks in advance 

Yeah, the clutch obviously isn't disengaging- at least not fully. 

You don't need to mess with anything inside the engine, or at the linkage leaving the side cover, to set your free play. If the tip of your clutch lever has about 1/2" of wiggle room you should be golden. Just use the wheel at the clutch perch.