The MT-07 Forum

Lane splitting

cornerslider

• Premium Member

I apologize in advance if this has been covered in another thread..... Help me understand "lane splitting"?  I've been ridding for 40+ years (30 years on the street), yet the idea of lane splitting seems very foreign to me... I live in Minnesota where lane splitting isn't legal. I watch bike reviews on YouTube, and I get almost a dizzy/vertigo experience coupled with anxiety when watching a video of a guy lane-splitting on a bike.... I understand that it helps keep traffic flowing efficiently. My question is if the risk/reward ratio is worth it? 

""W.O.T. until you see god, then brake"

Orangethunder

It depends on your own personal safety and comfort. If traffic is at a dead stop and it's hot out, I will lane split too, but I'm also not hauling ass between the cars either. I'll go maybe 10 mph or so, just to keep making forward progress. As soon as traffic opens back up again, I grab a lane and go with it. 

• Like 4

• Premium Member

Other than using lane-splitting to get to the front of the line at lights, I wouldn't do it in moving traffic even if it was legal. Way too much stupid on the streets to risk my safety in that manner IMO.

• Like 2

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

• Premium Member

Heres some updated news, if you'd call it that: 

filtering_hero.jpg

Proposed laws are similar to the one passed in Utah.

I kinda like Utah's approach, similar to what @DewMan was on about. It's technically not illegal in Arkansas, I just don't feel the need to get a ticket as they can interpret the law any way they choose. e.g Operating a vehicle in a dangerous manner! Failing to maintain lane, putting yourself or others in possible danger. I just try to keep the fuzz of my back as much as possible. I don't want to go to court and argue right/wrong.