The MT-07 Forum

Idiot here again, starting to worry about installing my Carbon Akra (tools needed)

msb06c

I’m a novice and mostly an idiot. So I apologize in advance for my ignorance. 

I made the very dumb mistake of buying tools by the piece as needed for maintenance instead of just getting a giant set for $100 and now I’m in a bit of a bind and trying to figure out exactly what I need to install my carbon akrapovic system. Please take pity on me  

here what I have:

hex:3/4/5/6/7/8/10

socket: 10-15, 17/19/21/22

For the most part, the part list from Akrapovic matches up with the YouTube tutorials I’ve seen, but there are some inconsistencies/discrepancies  

5mm and 8mm hex wrenches for getting the covers off. 22mm socket for getting the swing arm nut off to expose the hanger assembly. 10 and 12mm sockets to get the hangers and flanges off. So far so good. 

Where I’m unclear:

-size of the 02 sensor (I believe it’s 17mm, but I’m not sure, and it’s also NOT a listed tool from akra, maybe this can be done by hand?

-listed tools that I don’t understand where I’ll use them:  10mm,12mm,13mm (all SWIVELING) hex wrenches and a 22mm hex wrench ?? Wtf? 

what I’m planning to buy:

-flexible extender for my ratchet drivers to reach into tight spaces  

-17mm wrench (02 sensor) and 22mm wrench (o2 adaptor) 

I have literally no clue what the swiveling 10/12/13 hex wrenches are for, or a 22mm hex wrench. Do I need these? 

thankfully I live somewhat close to a hardware store but I really don’t want to walk over there multiple times during the installation.  I’d much prefer to have everything I need before installation.  This is slightly difficult because my bike is currently in a storage unit with the ECU in the mail, so I can’t really look at my bike to see and understand what I actually need. 

like i said: I’m a dummy. Thanks in advance for any help or well-wishes you can provide.