The MT-07 Forum

My journey making a passenger peg delete

Mad

Hi ! This is a summary of my experience making a custom part

I started knowing how to make carbon fiber components but with no knowledge about 3D printing, cnc milling and Cad programs and I used as excuse the need for a passenger peg delete , to Learn as much as possible.

I started with this , a piece of cardboard SnaWlI7.jpg

I crate a flat piece of carbon fiber with the right fiber orientation ( the orientation of the fibers is critical in composite materials) and than I cutted this piece out .

gcFt9lv.jpgF4PoHmU.jpg

well performing and fairly good looking but was a flat pieces , I wasn’t truly convinced ...

I took it as an excuse to learn how to use a cad program , I started with fusion 360 , free ( for hobbyists) and packed with A LOT of useful tools !

this is the copy of the carbon fiber bracketf3jzhHc.jpg

I started learning the design and simulation environments 

cHoZjJY.jpg

I designed a piece easy to machine and 3D print 

bxqWvX1.jpg

It was a simple design but it was heavy and weak compared to the carbon fiber one ( 18 grams of aluminum, not much but a little too flexible, and I was sure there was a better way ) 

OwVhdfm.jpg 

So I started experimenting with topology optimization , here the first ( good) try

G1o7NSO.jpg

I even 3D printed it and it was grate and quite sturdy when mounted but too flimsy if not mounted and too easy to brake when tightening the bolts .

back to the start.. I really learned how to use the topology optimization and I finally created a decent design based on the results EpG0FYL.jpg

some minor tweaks 

5VPr8gf.jpg

Looks good to me 

less than 12 grams ( aluminum )

And very rigid , but I tested the 3D printed design and I wasn’t satisfied with the lateral stiffness....

that means ..... simulations, design, and other simulations 

Gtw04ey.jpg

c8ph3d1.jpgFwEsoNr.jpg

Looking similar ? Yes , but totally different at the same time !