The MT-07 Forum

Best rear tire for commuting?

HBadger89

Hey guys. 

I am new here and to riding and I would like to your input please. So yesterday was a pretty fun/exciting day since I got to install my Akrapovic Ti on my bike. I installed this without the baffle so as you can imagine it now sounds...AMAZING. 

48513491686_eafefe5649_c.jpg

However, my thrillz were short lived after I found a screw completely lodged into my rear now flat rear tire.Which is especially frustrating considering that the tire is basically new... 

I commute Monday through Thursday on the bike for a total of 70 miles rt so I need a tire that will last. Any suggestions on a tire? The bike currently has the stock. My question is two fold. Can this be repaired like a care tire, it currently has a plug in place and seems to be holding. And if not, is there a better tire at a comparable price point? 

Truth be told I am still learning how to ride so I am perfectly happy with the grip this tire has and have no desire to run slicks. Looks aside of course. But I figured I would ask for input. 

48513491581_2ee9de0c72_c.jpg

Like I said before I am new here so forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong place. 

Thank you guys for any suggestions. 

Edited by HBadger89
Typos

bartman5impson

The Michelin Pilot Road series, now just called the Road series, is the gold standard of sport touring tires. It is consistently ranked as being the longest lasting and best performing in wet conditions. If you are looking for a new sport touring tire, the Road 5 is without a doubt the best option. It is more expensive than others but it will pay for itself in the extra mileage you will get from it.

• Like 2

Not to hijack but is there a good fair weather commuter tire that wears good in the center but is sticky on the sides for some aggressive riding? Not too worried about wet performance. 

If you used rubber cement with the sticky rope type of repair and let it dry, you'll be fine.