The MT-07 Forum

FZ07 vs SV650 gen 2

adamo

Hey Guys,

I wonder if any of you have any experience with sv650 gen2 vs fz07. I've been riding mine(mt07) for 2 years and it still is my first bike, however, I've only put around 7000km on her in two years and most of those miles were rides to hills to chase some twisties. A few weeks ago I've had my first track day and it was even better than i expected, but I could not get out of my mind that It would be better on some older bike that i won't care about that much and would be cheaper to upgrade and fix. I live in a city so dedicated track bike with trailer is out of scope right now, but i began thinking that older sv650 gen2 which run about 2000EUR in my area would make a fine bike for hooning around and also some track duty with basically half the prices of fz07, lot of upgrades available and so on. Basically, I'm wondering if I should throw money in fz or buy older sv650 or some 600. What do you think? Did you ride both? If yes how do they compare?

Thanks

Edited by adamo

I have owned two SV Gen 1s, a naked and the SVS faired. Both were outstanding machines, the second one I did a big bore kit on and it was very strong, lol, about equal to my stock MT-07. Well, okay it probably punched out around 80 horses or so. I think the SV is a better track bike than a MT-07, especially the SVS. I like the engine on the MT better, I think. Hard to say. 

I do not think a "track" bike should be anything but a "track" bike because if you use it for transportation and general riding then you may find yourself sans any bike. 

I should have never sold either. Both went to "track" bike duty with well heeled gents who lavished tons of money on them converting them to race spec machines. 

Edited by 3crows

Grease up the rabbit hole, here comes another one!