The MT-07 Forum

RED LIGHT NOT BEING ACTIVATED.

fastfredyb

RED LIGHT NOT BEING ACTIVATED!!  I am new to the street bike world and realized that my bike won't activate the light. I used to drive a vstar 1100 and didn't have this issue perhaps because the bike had more steel and was much heavier.  What do you do to remedy this issue?

• Premium Member
hippiebikerchick

Are you talking about the traffic signal light? Try to stop directly over the sensor in the ground. This is where a cager comes in handy. :)  I wish there was a law allowing us to run a red (safely) if it doesn't recognize us bikers.

Illegitimi non carborundum

Yes, I have a light that just won't turn green. I need to be behind a cager or a cager behind me in order to activate the light.

Guest August BB

I know in WA state, if the lights cycles through one time without changing, you are allowed to go if its clear. You can search if it is like that in your area.

• Premium Member
hippiebikerchick

On my regular routes that I ride, I have learned which ones can't detect me (usually left turns) so I go to another left if there is no cager there. Even my big heavy cruiser doesn't activate some lights.

Check your state laws. In TN, we too are allowed to go through the light provided we do so safely and have allowed a "reasonable amount of time" for the light to change.

Life is good on 2 wheels!

Get a oil filter magnet it helps out quite a bit. Most stop lights have an induction coil in the asphalt, it picks up magnetic fields put off by steel and iron. A magnet will usually put off a strong enough field to trigger the stop light.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001OJCIMO?cache=53fc43c0f1c0de39b464b5996f1ad975&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70&qid=1414600303&sr=8-5#ref=mp_s_a_1_5

You do or don't
Then your dead.

To order a tail tidy click
One-off-fabrication.myshopify.com