The MT-07 Forum

Essential Riding Gear??

prediddy

I want to start putting together a list of gear that I should bring with me on my regular rides.  Meaning aside from clothing/protective equipment that I'd be wearing already.

The goal is to build up a small backpack or something similar that will have some basic supplies to get me through a variety of situations I may encounter.  I have carried one in my car, containing basic tools, recovery gear, First Aid Kit, spare clothes, all kinds of assorted crap, for 'just in case' scenarios.

Obviously on a bike space is much more limited, and as a motorcycle noob, I'm open to suggestions I'm sure there are lots of things that can arise that I wouldn't think of myself.

So far I'm thinking...

Leatherman
Rain Poncho
Power Bars
$50 cash
some kind of tire patch/plug...

• Premium Member

Good list so far... Mine is similar.

Thinking about the bikemaster repair kit 

I'm also adding -

- A small flashlight (like thrunite ti3)

- Zip lock freezer bag(s) as back up dry storage and organization of stuff.

- Extra ignition key hidden somewhere on me or the bike... Not sure yet where to put though - probably will just go in my wallet

- Keychain size spare garage door opener (I got one for $15 here)

- Maybe a pair of riding glasses (in case my full face helmet is stolen/lost/unusable, I can at least drive home legally)

- Duct Tape - about 4' rewrapped to be flat (why? I don't know, but I always feel better knowing I have duct tape!)

- Tire pressure gauge

If your phone has a removable battery, a spare battery or a portable charger. I've also seen folks use pay-as-you-go phones that are always packed with their emergency pack.

Life is good on 2 wheels!

For the tire patch/plug, I built a small box with all the necessary tools needed. The most important being a small spray bottle filled with water/soap to find the leak location.

http://i1370.photobucket.com/albums/ag272/arnau11/IMG_1036_zps118093c5.jpg