The MT-07 Forum

MT-07 - used 2015 vs new 2018

mule

Hi all. I'm a total newbie trying to make a call on which learner bike to buy. This is in New Zealand where Yamaha offers learner approved variants of the MT-07 (at 655cc). Otherwise I believe the bikes are the same as the standard versions.

I've test ridden the 2018 and really liked it. Was about to pull the trigger when the dealership informed me they have a 2015 used bike in stock. 10,000km, full service records, and is supposedly immaculate (I'm taking a look later).

What I'm trying to decide is whether a used 2015 at $8000NZ is a better deal than a new 2018 at $11500. I'm having a hard time finding spec comparisons to see what's changed. I have no problem buying a used bike, so really it just comes down to: have there been 30% worth of improvements in the last few years?

Would love to hear some opinions. Cheers.

• Premium Member

The changes are mostly cosmetic. The shock on the 18 is supposed to be a bit stiffer, but not a league apart. The seat is shaped different too.  That magical CP2 engine is the heart of both bikes. Here in the states, you could get the older bike without ABS, but it comes standard on the 18+ models. I think that is different in other parts of the world.

• Thanks 1

I believe the forks are stiffer too - more 'sport'-like.  The front light is a little different; indicators moved.  The value of changes comes nowhere near 30% better in my view.  This bike is all about the engine, with everything else in a supporting role.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Just do it!