The MT-07 Forum

Check your bike if it is under a cover

Grant31781

My bike has been under a cover under my tractor shed for 2 weeks. The weather was nice today so I  uncovered it to find sand all over the seat and tank. Then I noticed a chunk of the rear seat strap had been chewed off.🤬 Squirrels or rats have to be the pest. I have been storing it this way for 5 months with no problems till now.

Not happy!! But nothing I can do. Now I have the bike by the house out in the open under the cover. The cat also stays around this area.

• Premium Member

Sounds like a perfect excuse to upgrade that vinyl covered plank they call a seat. 😄

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

It's the back seat. Lol. I am thinking of making an electrical grid around the bike powered by a continuous current fence charger. That should keep them away.

• Premium Member
bornagainbiker

Knock on wood, I've had no rodent problems with my bike, but my car is another story.  For some reason, mice thought that the air filter of my car was a great place to stash seeds.  I had to replace several air filters, well before their time, because of the furry little devils.

Give Respect To Get Respect   https://jeff-galbraith.pixels.com/

• 3 weeks later...

I made a shock pad with a constant current fence charger. I found a lizard dead on it and a few roaches. The cat walked across it and seemed to have had a hell of a shock!  It works fine in dry weather. Rain temporarily shorts  it out. I will have a new 22'X26' shop to put my bikes in the next 6 weeks!

• Premium Member

Put a little Listerine on the seat before you store it for a long time. Mice and such hate the minty smell, and it wipes right off.

~Pete

'16 FZ07

njdevils1990