The MT-07 Forum

Long Distance Touring

Andreas

Hi everyone,

I've scoured both the IBA and 07 forums for some long distance stuff but haven't really found what I'm looking for yet.

I have 11 days off for spring break this year and was planning on doing a 6000+ mile trip on my '18 MT07. I have a 2003 ZZR-600 but I'm rebuilding it and honestly don't trust it to make it without stranding me, though it would obviously be a better choice.

Here's my (very) rough plan:

Raleigh to Jacksonville, Jacksonville to San Diego IBA 50cc, hanging around the west coast for a couple of days and then heading back via Dallas and New Orleans. Aside from the first 3 days, it seems like I would be covering about 400 miles per day. Being a broke college student I'm hoping to use my gym membership for showers and sleep in a tent when possible 😂

Mod wise I have sliders and a USB outlet...  Don't really feel any fatigue from the seat at all, wind gets to me after about 6 hours without breaks but I have done 14 hours highway in a day before.

I've got a few questions for the definitely more experienced people on this forum:

Does this seem feasible?

Are there any mods I should consider doing? (I'm thinking about LED headlight, slightly lower bars, more crash protection)

Should I do any major maintenance or replace parts? Oil change halfway or wait until I get home?

What tires would offer good touring characteristics with grippy sides? I don't wanna cruise all the way to CA only to have rock solid tires riding up Mullholand...

I would appreciate any insight, thanks for reading!!

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong place!

Here's a pic of my setup from my Raleigh to Montreal 5 day trip 😁
1695244343_IMG_20181008_180853(1).thumb.jpg.052bac3900ea06a37047bb9c22f252a6.jpg

• Premium Member

I would recommend a test ride of at least 100 miles to shake out any issues with the ergos well prior to the start of your extended trip.