The MT-07 Forum

New Bike on a Tender

gksodah

My bike is my first brand new bike, my prior was an '02. I know I needed to keep it on the tender for the colder months 45 and below, but with a new bike and a brand new battery I'm wondering if I need to tender it at all over the winter? I live in Indiana and we are suppose to have another horrible winter >_> Bike will be in the garage, so not as cold as outside but not much better.

Get a cheap time switch plug the tender into that set to come on a hour or so a day,
job done enough to keep the battery up but wont dry it out.

Get a cheap time switch plug the tender into that set to come on a hour or so a day, job done enough to keep the battery up but wont dry it out.
Hadn't even thought of that....Thanks!

I have been using Battery Tender Junior for the past 7 years on all my bikes,my 2009 V strom for 5 years always on the battery tender never a problem this was during winter and sometimes on summer when bike wasn't used for long periods of time.It doesn't hurt the battery battery tender keeps the battery at peak level not letting discharge or overcharge ,good peace of mind when bike is stored for winter.As I am writing this my 07 and my majesty are on battery tender.

• Premium Member

Here's another reason to justify spending ~20 for the tender. http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender-081-0158-Disconnect-Charger/dp/B00DJ5KEF4/ref=pd_sim_auto_4?ie=UTF8&refRID=0HP033YF68VZRH70YKSG
This will keep your phone fully charged while running GPS. If you use the correct charge cable and not sync cable.

• Premium Member

I'm using the Jr. this year. Previous battery life in my old bike was just over 2 winters and didn't use a tender. I hear people saying 5-6 yrs possible if always on tenders during periods of long storage.

Set it & forget it! Added bonus with the USB converter.