The MT-07 Forum

A Noobs question on Shock and Sag number

sen07

Hi, I've been riding for a year and a half and the shocks needs an upgrade cos we know why. I spent time reading and watching countless 'how to do your sag' videos but i just cant get my head proper on it, sorry im just learning (slow at it). Im 163lbs with gears, i ride to work everyday, getting an Ohlins STX46 Rear Shock and and here's my question :

1. Why do we need to put our weight (with gears) on a website prior purchasing a shock? What mods are they going to set on the shock? the spring to match my weight?

2. Say i found my rider sag number, what am i going to do with that? (cos everybody explaining how to do it but not what to do about it? 

If I understand your questions correctly, in very simple terms;

1. They need that info to assemble a shock to suit your stated use. Smooth, compliant ride for street use or a more controlled, firmer action for track use. They will install a spring with the correct spring rate for your weight. They will valve it, if applicable, to achieve the desired performance characteristics.

2.  You set your 'sag', the amount the bike's rear end settles with you on it, so the suspension is able to respond to road irregularities in both directions. To keep the ride smooth, safe and controlled (tire on the ground) the wheel needs to be able to both fall into holes as well as rise over bumps. If there was no sag it would skip/slam into every little dip in the road making the ride horrible and possibly causing the tire to lose contact with the ground (lose traction=bad).  If you get a properly sprung shock there is nothing more 'to do about it' other than install it correctly and fine tune your sag number. That's why they need your weight and intended use.