The MT-07 Forum

2018 Suzuka winning R1

MT27

Nice to see them winning, good for Yamaha! The editor mentions that he thinks carbon fiber is a poor material choice for a radiator hose. I'm no expert on it either but I'm thinking (and maybe I'm wrong) that compared to a thick, rubber hose a molded carbon fiber hose would not only be lighter and stronger bust most of all would dissipate the heat better than rubber, therefore keeping the water/engine running cooler through out such a long race. That would be very important. Can anyone with expertise in this field elaborate on it. Does that sound about right or am I way off?

Beemer

Liquidmetal

Badass machine.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.

A carbon fibre reinforced clear "rubber" ( ureathane , silicone or like) would work fine for a flexible hose. Stock rubber has polyester or glass fibre in it.

Could just be a protective cover as noted, to protect the hose in a crash ( innegra or kevlar would be better).

Of course it could be a carbon link hose. Steel and aluminium ones are pretty common on bikes , though why you would make one with a glued seam, rather than a wrapped single piece, is beyond me

Go forth and modify my son...go forth and modify...

*With the crossplane crankshaft design, and “long band” firing order, the Yamaha YZF-R1 is known as a gas-guzzler, so that has to play into the factory team’s strategy.*

Any idea how a cranks firing order hurts mpg?

• Premium Member

I believe the carbon fiber hose cover is more for crash protection, thermal management of fluid and possibly to help keep the hose vibrations down which decreases the like hood of material failure??? 

and yes I was a bit puzzled by the gus guzzler comment- only thing I can think of is the amount of HP/TQ being generated across a broader rpm range than other bikes?? ( with engine sizes being fairly equal and bike/rider weight)