The MT-07 Forum

Suspension for 2018 MT

Dharma

So I'm new to the esoteric magic that is motorcycle suspension.  This shet is baffling and I'd love some advice from you wizards out there.  

I recently bought an 2018 MT07.  I'm 5'11" and weigh around 205-210 with gear. I commute 20 miles to work one way about 2-4 times per week (includes some freeway like roads and some back roads) and ride relatively aggressively on the streets though-out the week, including some scenic mountain twisties.  Many of the roads were I live are exceptionally shitty.  I don't plan on hitting the track much, maybe a hand full of times per year, max. I do ride with a partner on board frequently (couple times a week for shorter rides).  

Finances are not a problem.  I'm more interested in finding what is ride for me on this bike in my situation.  

I've been looking at Ohlins, penske, and nitron.  I've gotten much contradictory advice about what I need, want, etc, for both the shock and forks (double clicker?  height adjustment? damper rods vs cartridge kit?)  I've briefly looked into the tech and info behind suspension and it's a bit overwhelming.  

The guy I'm going to for help with a bunch of mods has recommended the nitron NTR-2 for the shock and the ohlin's cartridge kit for the front.  Unfortunately, ohlin's fork doesn't come with height adjustment or compression  and nitron doesn't make a cartridge kit for my bike yet with no ETA in site (they're "working on it").  Part of my brain will be upset that my shock doesn't match my fork suspension but I think, functionally, this might be a decent set up for me with a lot of adjustability.  The other option is to go with Penske's double clicker and cartridge kit.  Mixed reviews. 

Thoughts?  Ideas?  Ad hominem remarks?  Any/all would be appreciated.   

There are at least 3 VERY good suspension people on this forum, of which pattonme is one.