The MT-07 Forum

New MT07 Owner

Wintersdark

Wintersdark

Just ordered a new 2018 MT-07 (Intensity White) - it'll be a couple weeks before it arrives, so I'm taking this time checking out the related forums.

I've been riding for 25 years, pretty much every day there's no ice/snow.  My previous rides (the fact that they're all 1982's is entirely coincidental):

'82 Kawasaki 440ltd

'82 CB900C

'82 HD Ironhead Sportster

'82 XJ750 (current bike) 

So this MT07 is my first actually new bike, and I am incredibly excited to get it.  While I've bought bikes that I hadn't ridden first before (the Sportster came in boxes of parts, and the XJ was a travesty of neglect) this is a pretty huge investment (at least, by my standards!) done blindly.  So, I'll admit, I'm a bit nervous.  However, I've pretty much never seen a bike so well reviewed either, and they're so, so sexy.

Welcome, and congrats!

I have a very big soft spot for all things CB, and I dig Ironhead's, too!  As much as I love older bikes, the 07 just blows them away in every respect. You are gonna fall in love. 

The 07 was also my first brand new bike. Worth every penny. Zero regrets. The more I ride it the more I love it. 

Wintersdark

I'm really excited for what's basically comparable power (though wildly different powerband) to my current XJ750 but in a vastly lighter and better designed package, with the benefit of 35 years of motorcycle engineering advancements.  It'll be nice to have a ride that I don't need to spend as much time wrenching on as I do riding, too.  Part of the reason [err, excuse I gave, anyways] for buying the new MT07 is to get warranty coverage for anything significant, and have something solid, reliable, and not mangled by Previous Owner Shenanigans.  Something I can do normal maintenance on, but otherwise just hop on and ride without worry.

Hopefully, it'll free up wrench time to play with the disassembled Seca in my basement :)

You do know that it's not an '82 ...don't you.