The MT-07 Forum

Question for ASV lever owners

ShiftHer

I just installed a set of ASV (long) levers on my bike. The clutch side is very snug, but the brake side is very loose feeling. I got the ASV levers because I had cheapo levers before and they were quite loose. I'm disappointed to feel this looseness on the pricey ASV lever, so I'm wondering if maybe I installed it wrong or something. Is there a bushing that's supposed to go on the brake side? It's almost like it needs one to fill up the extra space, but none of the bushings that came with would fit, and the screw kind of looks like it has a built in bushing.

• Premium Member

I have no experience with ASV levers... but My generic levers came with some very thin washers to use as shims if needed. Perhaps you could find some thin enough washer(s) to take up the sloppiness you're feeling... This is of course assuming you're talking about slop where the bolt used to mount it to the brake master cylinder, not within the lever itself.

Good luck solving your problem.

• Like 1

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

• Global Moderator

My AVS levers fit nicely.   I did not need any washers.   I too replaced cheap Chinese levers and have been very happy with the AVS levers.  

• Like 2

I have no experience with ASV levers... but My generic levers came with some very thin washers to use as shims if needed. Perhaps you could find some thin enough washer(s) to take up the sloppiness you're feeling... This is of course assuming you're talking about slop where the bolt used to mount it to the brake master cylinder, not within the lever itself. 
Good luck solving your problem.
Yes, that's exactly what I'm talking about. Any idea what size washers I would be looking for? (I'm not very mechanically inclined, so explicit instructions are helpful lol) 
The nut on the end of the bolt is 10mm I believe, but not sure if that's inner size or outer. 

ninjaiceberg