The MT-07 Forum

stock clutch

outcrydrummer

outcrydrummer

Im going to preface this by saying im no clutch expert so bear with my non technical terms and loose understandings.

Got about 500 miles on the bike now...still cant get use to the stock clutch. Since day one ive had to let out the lever over half way before the clutch starts to engage.......
Is it just me or shouldnt a brand new clutch on a brand new bike almost immediately start to engage.

Ive always associated the life of the clutch with how far you have to let out to engage the clutch....less the better.

Just curious if im mistaken...
If its simply an adjustment.....
Or if im right i need to take the bike in and see what the heck the deal is....

Thanks

• Premium Member
howworkclutch

It's adjustable. The cables stretch a lot in the first couple hundred miles. And require periodic adjustment afterward.

-HowWorkClutch

Go into the owners manual and read how the lever freeplay should be adjusted.

Clutch life has nothing to do with any of the things you've described - unless the clutch pack can not close properly cause there's no freeplay in the cable (btw, if it was hydraulic, "freeplay" becomes another issue ) . If the clutch pack is worn out, it will slip, the motor will rev, the vehicle goes no where. Same thing happens if there's not enough freeplay.

If you turn that adjuster at the lever until there's a ton of play, just so the clutch engages closer to the bar, the clutch pack will not open enough to provide good shift quality.

If you want the clutch to start working closer to the bar, you will need to purchase an adjustable reach lever - like the Pazzo or knock-offs.

The throw of the lever must still be adequate to push the clutch pack apart or you will have gear box issues down the line.