The MT-07 Forum

Weight of engine alone

chaznagel408

chaznagel408

Howdy all I'm a student at Texas A&M university in Texas and am a member of the Fsae team which is a team that builds a race car from scratch one of the rule is that we use an engine below 710cc and is a four stroke. I was tasked with finding an engine that fits these rules and is as light as possible. Came across the FZ07 and I was wondering if anyone knows the weight of the engine(including transmission, headers, etc... DONT include the pipe if at all possible I understand if that is not possible) alone wet and dry if possible
Thanks and gig' em

Guest Ralph

No idea on weight though the full bike weighs 165kg, but unless theres a reason
not to you will do better for racing with a R6 or sporting 4 cylinder engine,
sidecar racers with 600 4cylinders are averaging 113 mph round the TT course
pulling 2 crew and about 8 gall of fuel, ok they only have 3 wheels but
you will get more hp from a standard R6 600 than you will ever get out of
a twin.

• Premium Member
wickedtwister

If your looking for something with a lower rpm power band the fz motor will be better. I think it's a little lighter than a 600 but the 600 makes more power.

I see your looking into power to weight ratios but I agree with Ralph you will be better with a r6 motor or a honda cbr600 motor. But if your team feels you will be operating mostly in the lower rpm range the fz may make more power there. It all depends on how you want to gear it.

To answer your question I don't know what it weighs and I'm not sure where to find that information. I can look in the shop manual but I doubt it's listed at all.

Is it for Baja or road course? Depending on the driver, the FZ torque may be more important than ultimate HP. YMMV and that's why FSAE is so great. I'll bet there's somebody at Yamaha who would love to give you detailed information.

chaznagel408